Linking Multiliteracies


The book integrates activities tapping communicative competencies of students. The curriculum of the English language is delivered through an integration of learning competencies. This structure was followed by the book since the learning of the English language is integrative. There are 14 language skills that are integrated for each lesson. However, the integration is done only for some skills for a particular grade level.

Linking Multiliteracies in English

The book follows a novel format that facilitates learning through a lesson structure. There are six elements followed in the book structure. These elements are present in every lesson to facilitate standards-based approach by determining whether the students are able to reach the necessary competencies.

1. “What I need to learn?” ((with Most Essential Learning Competencies). It is important to provide the learning competencies at the beginning of the lesson to remind the learners on what they need to focus. This serves as an advance organizer for the learners by conditioning their expectations for the lesson. Some learning targets are marked with MELC that guides the teachers and learners on the learning competencies that can be prioritized in different learning deliveries such as home-based, online, modular, radio or television broadcast.

2. “Let’s learn it this way” (Learning Experience). The learning experience provides the actual lesson through presentation of activities that will target the learning competencies. This part present reading passages, literary materials, illustrations, scenarios, cases, stories, anecdotes, videos, infographics, websites, newspaper articles, websites, and other materials that connects to the lesson.

3. “Processing” (Task prompts, questions, and cues). The processing provides task prompts, questions, and cues that students need to think about to surface their thinking on the materials presented in the learning experience.

4. “What I need to remember” (Guidelines and key ideas). In this section the learners engages in brief important points, guidelines, content, and rules to follow.

5. “Check your skills” (Assessment). This section provides the assessment of the learning competencies. The assessment may come in the form of written works or performance-based assessment. It can also be used as formative or summative assessments.

Bituin Araw-ayalin (Grade 1 Author)
Tristan Piosang (Grade 2 Author)
Ma. Jhoeleanne E. Adriano

(Grade 2 Author)

Dave Kenneth Cayado

(Grade 3 Author)

Christine Joy Magpayo

(Grade 4 Author)

Dr. Ma. Corazon Sauz

(Grade 5 Author)

Nolan Severino Jusayan

(Grade 5 & 6 Author)

Allan Dosel Yungot-yungot

(Grade 5 Author)

Dr. Carlo Magno


Written by topnotch educators, these worktexts are essential tools for young learners as they start their journey into the world of learning. Books to guide, books to have fun with, and books to spark a lifelong love of learning.


These worktexts are designed to help students think critically, and give them a strong foundation to help them prepare for the next stage in their education.


Meticulously designed to advance the aims of the K-12 curriculum, these worktexts help students develop communication and problem-solving skills, acquire lasting values, and provide guidance on how to successfully navigate their expanding world.


These are worktexts designed to prepare students for higher learning and equip them with the competence to tackle challenges in the next stage of their education.